christmas carols, Faith

Oh, Hear the Angels Sing

Last month I became addicted to a Christmas album, Tommee Profitt The Birth of a King: Live. I kept playing the album over and over and no matter where I was at (work, car or the gym) I was drawn to the Christmas hymns and the worship behind them.

This week at work, I needed a pick me up. So I pulled out my Christmas album and played it. And then played it again. And again.

It may be the end of January, but who said we should only celebrate Christ’s birth in December.

We should celebrate it everyday.

As I was working I listened to “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear” and I was once again pulled out of my state of stress and dismay at the hook of the song,

Oh, hear the angels sing, oh
Oh, hear the angels sing
“Our King has come”

And in that moment, I longed to hear the angels sing.

Not to sing me out of my pit of worry and inner focus, but to remind me “Our King has come!”

Oh, to hear that sound that many years ago of angels praising God for what they have been waiting for from the beginning of time.

Oh, to hear their voices break the depressing world that can easily tangle us all into wallowing in our own self pity.

Oh, to hear the unity of all creation bowing before the Savior of the world.

Oh, to hear the the power behind their words awakening a sleeping word.

Oh, to hear…just to hear the angels sing.

Many times in worship I have to close my eyes. Too many distractions. Too many lights. Too many obstacles when I need to focus on the reason why I am worshipping.

And many times, I imagine myself being in front of the throne hidden in the masses of angels praising God. I may not know what Heaven looks like, but I try to imagine it. And I know my imagination is a frail comparison of the true wonder of it.

Yet, I’m often compelled by my little picture in my head with emotions of just a little snipit of what I can expect.

Oh, to hear the angels sing…it’s such a lovely thought. Isn’t it?

May you find the intrigue and wonder, not just at Christmas, but throughout the year.

Peace

If you need a new album to listen to, check this one out. Every song…everyone will lead you to worship the Birth of a King.

Leave a comment